Publishing a dataset

Edited

Once the dataset is ready, and after it has been fully configured, it must be published in order to appear in the portal, where users can discover it.

If a dataset has already been published but is subsequently modified, you must click Publish again for those modifications to be visible in the portal. A scheduled republication doesn’t apply them, because it reprocesses the source data with the configuration from the last publication.

If you wish to limit access to the data, remember to configure the dataset's Access tab before publishing the dataset.

Note that if a mandatory metadata field is empty, publication will fail. Check the dataset's Metadata tab to ensure all mandatory fields are filled in.

To publish or republish a dataset:

  1. Remember to save any change you've made.

  2. Click on the Publish button in the top-right.

  3. (optional) Click on the View button to go directly to the live dataset in the portal, and check the result.

To know more about the possible actions to operate on a dataset and the different statuses of the life cycle of a dataset, refer to the Dataset actions and statuses documentation.